About Us


The Incorporation of Hammermen of Glasgow originally comprised craftsmen associated with metalworking – traditionally “men who wielded the hammer”, namely blacksmiths, goldsmiths, lorimers, cutlers, armourers, sword-makers, clockmakers, locksmiths, pewterers, tinsmiths etc. The Incorporation of Hammermen’s crest is a hammer surmounted by a crown, and its motto “By Hammer in Hand, All Arts do Stand”. Today, these “men of the Hammer” embrace every aspect of modern engineering in all its disciplines and, as a consequence of admission of sons of members, many other trades and professions are represented.

The Incorporation is governed by the Master Court which is headed by the Deacon, the Collector and a number of Masters who are elected annually.

No member of the Incorporation can become Deacon without first serving an annual term as Collector. The office would appear to have been established c.1620 and is no guarantee of the holder becoming Deacon. It is the Collector’s task to recruit new members and to look after the alms of the Incorporation, which were traditionally kept in the Collector’s box. A leather purse was worn by the officer when distributing the money to the needier members of the Incorporation, their widows and pensioners.

The Incorporation today has a membership of over 1000 and during its 450-year history there have been many famous people connected with it, including Kings, Princes, a Princess and Prime Ministers. From the 16th to the early 19th centuries, the majority of members were metalworkers – men who worked with a hammer to fashion their products. However, more recently membership has widened to include industrialists, entrepreneurs, and others for whom the Incorporation with all its traditions has provided encouragement in furthering the trade and commerce of the City of Glasgow.

Master Court

Deacon: Professor Gordon Masterton OBE

Collector: Andrew Young

Lieutenant Colin Botfield RNR Late Deacon
John A McKnight Ex-Deacon
Peter McCarthy DL Ex-Deacon
Professor David Harrison Ex-Deacon
Prof Bruce Wood Late Collector
David Westmore
Charles Craig
Chris Vine
Dr Nina Baker DL
Prof Martyn Cullen
Vickram Dhami
James Watson

Clerk: W Grant Johnston

By Hammer in Hand, All Arts Do Stand’