We are the Hammermen of Glasgow. Welcome to our website.

Across Europe, from the 11th Century onwards, a system made up of guilds of craftsmen and merchants regulated the trade and commerce within their towns and cities.

Glasgow was such a city and had a sophisticated system of guilds – or Incorporations as they came to be known – which controlled the government of the Burgh, all headed by an officer known as the Deacon Convener.

The Hammermen were one of such guilds. From the 16th Century the Incorporation of Hammermen has supported trade and commerce for metalworkers and associated trades within the City of Glasgow.

Little over 450 years ago, these trades would have included goldsmiths, blacksmiths and locksmiths. Sword-makers, armourers, cutlers, lorimers and clockmakers would also have been represented by our organisation. And today, we represent every discipline of modern engineering, as well as many other trades typical in modern society including entrepreneurs, academics and industrialists.

We now have over 1,000 members and continue to support associated industries through fundraising and encouraging future talent.

Latest News

2020 Annual Report

View the 2020 Annual Report and find out the Zoom details for September’s AGM – taking place Friday 18th September at 9:45am.
Read More

Annual Dinner 2019

On the evening of 14th November, we held our Annual Dinner – and we’re delighted to say that we had a full house, almost at…
Read More

Master Court

The Incorporation of Hammermen of Glasgow are governed by a Master Court. This group of individuals make sure the activities of the craft run smoothly and ultimately benefit the cause of furthering engineering and associated trades. This is our Master Court:

Deacon: Andrew Young

Collector: Dr Nina Baker, DL

Professor Bruce Wood (Late Deacon)  
Professor Gordon Masterton, OBE, DL (Ex-Deacon)
Lieutenant Colin Botfield RNR (Ex-Deacon)  
David Westmore (Late Collector)  
Charles Craig (Master)
Susan Cresswell (Master)
Dr Martin Cullen (Master)
David Cumming (Master)
Raymond Lyon (Master)
Anita Meldrum (Master)   
James Watson (Master)
Mick O’Connor (Master)
James Watson (Master)
Dean Young (Master)  

Clerk: W Grant Johnston